BFA 2024

The 9th International Workshop on

Boolean Functions and their Applications (BFA)

Dedicated to Prof. Claude Carlet’s 75th anniversary

September 9-13, 2024, Inter-University Centre Dubrovnik, Croatia

Organised by the Selmer Center

Boolean functions and more generally all the discrete structures used in error-correcting coding, cryptography or communications, are highly active research areas. The workshop Boolean Functions and their Applications (BFA) provides a forum for researchers who are working on discrete functions and structures, particularly on Boolean functions, to exchange ideas and interests in open problems, and to further explore their applications in cryptography, error correcting codes and communications.

Important Dates


Submission deadline April 30, 2024
Acceptance notification June 15, 2024
Camera-ready submission August 1, 2024
Registration deadline for physical participation TBA
BFA 2024 September 09 – September 13, 2024


General Chairs

  • Lilya Budaghyan, University of Bergen, Norway
  • Nikolay Kaleyski, University of Bergen, Norway
  • Stjepan Picek, Radboud University, the Netherlands 

Program Chairs

  • Daniel Katz, California State University, Northridge, USA
  • Sihem Mesnager, Université Paris 8, France

Program Committee

  • Nurdagül Anbar, Sabancı University, MDBF, Turkey
  • Christof Beierle, Ruhr University Bochum, Germany
  • Marco Calderini, University of Trento, Italy
  • Ondřej Čepek, Charles University in Prague, Czech
  • Ayça Çesmelioglu, Ozyegin University, Turkey
  • Robert S. Coulter, University of Delaware, USA
  • Joan Daemen, Radboud University, the Netherlands
  • Patrick Felke, Hochschule Emden/Leer, Germany
  • Faruk Göloglu, Charles University in Prague, Czech
  • Daniel Katz, California State University, USA (co-chair)
  • Chunlei Li, University of Bergen, Norway
  • Wilfried Meidl, Sabanci Alpen-Adria-Universit Austria and Sabancı University Turkey
  • Sihem Mesnager, Universities of Paris VIII and Sorbonne University North, France (Co-chair)
  • Ferruh Özbudak, Sabanci University, Turkey
  • Mohit Pal, University of Bergen, Norway
  • Enes Pasalic, University of Primorska, Slovenia
  • George Petrides, University of Cyprus, Cyprus
  • Vincent Rijmen, KU Leuven, Belgium
  • Massimiliano Sala, University of Trento, Italy
  • Pantelimon Stanica, Naval Postgraduate School, Monterey, USA
  • Irene Villa, University of Genoa, Italy
  • Qiang Wang, Carleton University, Canada

Organizing Committee

  • Enrico Piccione, University of Bergen, Norway
  • Nadiia Ichanska, University of Bergen, Norway
  • Samuele Andreoli, University of Bergen, Norway

Confirmed invited speakers

  • Sylvain Guilley, TELECOM-ParisTech
  • Tor Helleseth, University of Bergen, Norway
  • Ferdinand Ihringer, University of Ghent
  • Gregor Leander, Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany
  • Gábor Péter Nagy, Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary

Submission and registration

More information will be provided soon.